Tree of Life Learning

Striving for Academic Excellence Through Christ-Centered Education


Friday Fun Pt: 2 New Potato Soup with Rosemary & Feta

Baked New Potatoes with Rosemary

Baked New Potatoes with Rosemary

New Potato Soup With Rosemary & Feta

5 lbs young red skinned potatoes, washed
1 + 1/2 tsp rosemary
3 Tbl olive oil
2 15 oz cans stock
2 cloves garlic, smashed
3 scallions, diced
1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1/2 cup whole milk or cream
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp salt

What I’ll Do:

I could could certainly start this soup by chopping your pototaoes and boiling them, until just fork tender, but I’m stuck on the notion to roast them, WHOLE, and see where that leads me. So, I’ll start by preheating my oven to 375 degrees. Then lay my potatoes out in a single layer on a baking sheet, making fairly DEEP pricks in each with a fork, toss them in olive oil and spinkle generously with salt & rosemary. When the oven comes to temperature, I can slide them in.

 I’ll start checking them after about 50 minutes. I don’t want crumbly potatoes. I want them to hold their shape, but I DO want to detect TENDERNESS at the CENTER.

 When I have that tenderness, I’m ready to move ahead. While my potatoes are cooling slightly, I can put my dutch oven over medium heat and saute the remaining veggies until crisp tender. I need to add the smashed garlic to my veggies last so it doesn’t burn.

When my veggies are crisp tender and my garlic is lightly golden, I ‘ll season lightly with salt, bring the potatoes to the pot, and start adding liquids. First will come the stock–both cans–and then the cream, with a good stir of my pot in between each addition.

With my soup basically intact now, I’ll let it come to a rolling boil.  I don’t  want to lose liquid (This is a soup, after all.),  but I want everything to boil together uncovered for just a couple of minutes to combine flavors. I’ll stir again as I feel inspired.

Just before I bring the soup to the table, I’ll add the fetta and black pepper and give everything a final stir.

Voila!